top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureelohimdaily

In the Pasture


In our daily life when circumstances getting out of hand and you feel surrounded by fear, despair, doubt, feeling helpless, and all things seem too much to deal with. Going through a rough patch feeling I'm in need of someone to help me and to guide me through this rough patch. As Christians, we tend to call out to God for help. Its if we know deep inside of us, that He is our shepherd. This may be the reason why so many Christians in the midst of their troubles go back to their roots, reading and meditating on Psalms 23. This Psalms is one of the best-known scripture around the world for generations. The first Psalms my parents, and my parents, parents taught us.


“The LORD is my Shepherd [to feed, to guide, and to shield me], I shall not want. He lets me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still and quiet waters. He refreshes and restores my soul (life); He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Even though I walk through the [sunless] valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort and console me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You have anointed and refreshed my head with oil; My cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, And I shall dwell forever [throughout all my days] in the house and in the presence of the LORD.” - Psalms 23:1-6 AMP.


This is the psalm of the Great Shepherd who cares for His sheep and equips them for ministry “Now may the God of peace [the source of serenity and spiritual well-being] who brought up from the dead our Lord Jesus, the great Shepherd of the sheep, through the blood that sealed and ratified the eternal covenant, equip you with every good thing to carry out His will and strengthen you [making you complete and perfect as you ought to be], accomplishing in us that which is pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be the glory forever and ever. Amen.” - Hebrews 13:20-21 AMP, the “great high priest” “Inasmuch then as we [believers] have a great High Priest who has [already ascended and] passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession [of faith and cling tenaciously to our absolute trust in Him as Savior].” - Hebrews 4:14 AMP, who “ever lives to make intercession for us” “Therefore He is able also to save forever (completely, perfectly, for eternity) those who come to God through Him since He always lives to intercede and intervene on their behalf [with God].” - Hebrews 7:25 AMP.


The image of God as Israel’s shepherd begins in Genesis, “Then Jacob (Israel) blessed Joseph, and said, “The God before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac walked [in faithful obedience], The God who has been my Shepherd [leading and caring for me] all my life to this day,” - Genesis 48:15 AMP, and continues throughout Scripture (Ps. 28:9; 80:1; 95:7; 100:3; Isa. 40:11; 49:10; Jer. 31:10; Ezek. 34:11–15; Matt. 10:6; 15:24; Mark 6:34). The promised Messiah was seen as a shepherd “AND YOU, B BETHLEHEM, IN THE LAND OF J UDAH, ARE NOT IN ANY WAY LEAST AMONG THE LEADERS OF J UDAH; FOR FROM YOU SHALL COME A RULER WHO WILL SHEPHERD MY PEOPLE I ISRAEL. ” - Matthew 2:6 AMP, (Ezek. 34:16, 23; Mic. 5:4; Zech. 13:7; Matt. 26:3; Mark 14:27; John 10). David pictured God’s people as lowly sheep. Why? So we would learn about the Shepherd and see how tenderly He cares for us.


“The Lord” is Jehovah God, the covenant-making God of Israel. The compound names of Jehovah in the Old Testament reflect the contents of this psalm. Let's look at a few important things David highlights for us. When Jehovah God is my Shepherd “I shall not want” - Jehovah-Jireh, the Lord will provide” “So Abraham named that place The LORD Will Provide. And it is said to this day, “On the mountain of the LORD it will be seen and provided.” - Genesis 22:14 AMP. “still waters” - Jehovah-Shalom, “the Lord our peace” “Then Gideon built an altar there to the LORD and named it The LORD is Peace. To this day it is still in Ophrah, of the Abiezrites.” - Judges 6:24 AMP.


“restores my soul” - Jehovah-Rophe, “the Lord who heals” “saying, “If you will diligently listen and pay attention to the voice of the LORD your God, and do what is right in His sight, and listen to His commandments, and keep [foremost in your thoughts and actively obey] all His precepts and statutes, then I will not put on you any of the diseases which I have put on the Egyptians; for I am the LORD who heals you.” - Exodus 15:26 AMP. “paths of righteousness” - Jehovah Tsidkenu, “the Lord our righteousness” “In those days Judah will be saved and [the people of] Jerusalem will live in safety; and this is the name by which she will be called: The LORD Our Righteousness (Justice).” - Jeremiah 33:16 AMP.


“you are with me” - Jehovah Shammah, “the Lord is there” “The distance around the city shall be 18,000 (4 x 4,500) cubits; and the name of the city from that day [and ever after] shall be, ‘The LORD is There.” - Ezekiel 48:35 AMP. “the presence of my enemies” - “Jehovah-Nissi, “the Lord our banner” “And Moses built an altar and named it The LORD Is My Banner;” - Exodus 17:15 AMP. “anoint my head” - JehovahM’Kaddesh, “the Lord who sanctifies” “You shall keep My statutes and do them. I am the LORD who sanctifies you.” - Leviticus 20:8 AMP.


If we follow the Lord and trust Him, He will meet our every need, no matter what the circumstances may be. He will lead us to green pastures, still waters where we can rest assured and know that He will be there and He will assure us of His unconditional love for us. Whenever you get tired and weary now that you've got a Shepherd that will lead you to rest and give you peace in the midst of circumstances. Emmanuel - God with us. Be bless. Shalom.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page